Soundscraper Score Schedule/Timetable for March 10, 2014 (final)

Timetable of place-sounds for Soundscraper performance
Venue: Center for New Music, San Francisco, California USA
Venue date: March 10, 2014, 8:00 – 10:00 PM PDT [March 11, 3:00 – 5:00 AM GMT]
Title: Capsule 1 (Inside/Outside)
Mixer-performer: Thom Blum

By March 7, 2014 please e-mail the timings of the sections in which you will likely participate to participate@soundscraper.org.

If you are going to stream from a mobile device please fully charge the device before starting to stream. More tips at the bottom of this page.

The times for each section below are in Pacific Daylight Savings Time (PDT) for MARCH 10th, and in Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) for MARCH 11th. There are many time converters on the Web. Here is just one that will allow you to convert the current time in one locale to that of another – World Time Server. Here’s another one that works well – World Time Buddy

Part  1 – Inside a domicile

7:45 – 8:20 PM PDT (35 mins) [2:45 - 3:20 AM GMT, March 11]

4032651576_489317a29a   IMG_0935   IMG_1226
Location: Inside a house or an apartment
Soundscape:
- Keyword for this section is quiet
- Sound feeds in this section can be very near silent with occasional quiet to medium-loud sounds. That is expected.
- Mostly silent or very quiet “room tone” (preferably no speaking/television/music/radio)
- Quiet sounds such as the turning of pages in a book, magazine, newspaper
- Occasional indoor footsteps, seating and furniture creaks, floorboard noises, clothing rustling, etc.
- Perhaps a crackling wood fire in the fireplace
- Consuming food alone at home (no music/tv/radio)
- Feeding a pet (talking to pet is fine)
- Some outdoor noises may enter (sirens, cars, etc.) but they are sparse or mostly in the background

8:10 – 8:35 PM PDT (25 minutes) [3:10 - 3:35 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_0313   IMG_0380   IMG_0345
Location: Inside a house or an apartment
Soundscape:
- Moderate to high sound volume activities/sounds
- More movement and noises within the home; more activity
- Some speaking/conversation, maybe adults playing cards, kids playing inside (or heard from playing outside), some outdoor sounds can be heard from outside
- Feeding a pet (talking to pet is fine)
- Background television/movies/music is okay

8:25 – 8:45 PM PDT (20 mins) [3:25 - 3:40 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_1214   IMG_1903IMG_0369
Location: Inside a house or an apartment
Soundscape:
- Moderate to medium-loud sounds
- Household chores (cooking, washing dishes, cleaning, sweeping, etc.)

Part 2 – Moving from inside to outside

8:35 – 8:50 PM PDT (15 minutes) [3:30 - 3:50 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_1510   08-30-06_2236   IMG_0486
Location: Leaving the home/apartment/domicile and going outside into the world
Soundscape:
- Overall quiet, sparse-sounding
- Urban, suburban, or rural/country setting
- Turning off the TV, video, music, etc.
- Gathering items and putting outer wear on as you prepare to leave the house/apartment
-Speaking/conversation as you are leaving is okay

8:40 – 9:00 PM PDT (20 minutes) [3:40 - 4:00 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_0908   IMG_0739   IMG_1603
Location: Leaving the home/apartment/domicile and going outside into the world
Soundscape:
- The sound of doors being opened and closed as you move from inside to outside 
- Footsteps – any but preferably moving from inside (carpet, wood, tile, marble) to outside (concrete, grass, gravel, clay/dirt)

Part 3a – Urban soundscapes – Moving into the urban world from the inside

8:50 – 9:10 PM PDT (20 minutes) [3:50 - 4:10 AM GMT, March 11]

8137040972_1775423197   IMG_2363   IMG_0793
Location: Outside, urban
Soundscape:
- On a quiet street
- Perhaps some sparse or quiet motor traffic
- Perhaps people/pedestrians walking by (maybe talking, or not, as they pass)

9:00 – 9:15 PM PDT (15 minutes) [4:00 - 4:15 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_1070   IMG_1060   IMG_0927
Location: Outside, urban
Soundscape:
- On a heavily-trafficed street but NOT a freeway/highway
- A street with lots of people and/or cars

9:10 – 9:30 PM PDT (20 minutes) [4:10 - 4:30 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_0926   IMG_0912   5323047307_59db4c3db9
Location:Inside any store (small or large) or in a cafe, restaurant, or pub
Soundscape:
- Take all the ambient sound inside the location

9:20 – 9:45 PM PDT (25 minutes) [4:20 - 4:45 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_0887   3536575833_6537a59524   school bus
Location: Inside any form of public transportation or taxi. Inside a train, subway, bus, plane, etc. Or, inside a transit station or airport
Soundscape:
- Whatever you can stream from any of these places is perfect!
- Train whistles, nearby or far away

Part 3b – Rural soundscapes – Sounds from the more natural, rural world

9:35 – 10:00 PM PDT (25 minutes) [4:35 - 5:00 AM GMT, March 11]

IMG_1006   IMG_1637   IMG_1645
Location:Outside, rural, quiet neighborhood, or countryside
Soundscape:
- Any outside place that is fairly quiet, and/or is mostly sparse in terms of sound activity or density
- Strive to capture a wide-open space with more natural (less man-made) sound
- Can walk around in the environment (including in snow or rain)

Please note
+ Avoid pointing the microphone into the wind. Placing a windscreen over the mic may help. Here is a link to more tips for the best “live-streaming” experience.
+ The descriptions of the sound environments for each time period do not need to be interpreted literally or strictly. There is room for variation.
+ However, unless otherwise indicated, please avoid using extensive speaking or dialog in these live streams.

live crowdsourced soundscaping